New Taranaki iwi partnership on the horizon

Published on

A new partnership between WITT and Te Korowai o Ngāruahine Trust Iwi (Ngāruahine) is signalling the start of a new commitment between WITT and local Taranaki iwi. On 7 July WITT Chief Executive John Snook and Te Korowai o Ngāruahine Trust CEO Te Aorangi Dillion signed a strategic partnership to work together to create community-designed education and training solutions.

Allie Hemara-Wahanui, Deputy Chief Executive, acknowledged that the strategic partnership is the beginning of a new and exciting commitment.

“It has always been an aspiration to have a formal relationship with Taranaki Iwi. This recent signing demonstrates a genuine commitment from WITT to support the Ngāruahine Iwi.

 “The new agreement acknowledges each other’s visions and values. It creates a solid foundation for developing relationships and designing initiatives leading to tangible opportunities.”

Te Aorangi Dillion, CEO of Ngāruahine acknowledged the new partnership and is excited about the commitment to working together for community designed and lead education and training solutions.

“It’s a great day to celebrate WITT’s commitment to Te Korowai o Ngāruahine’s Te Ara Toiroa strategy kura to career pipeline, and Te Rautaki Matauraura, our education strategy,” she said.

Hemara-Wahanui said that Ngāruahine Iwi is situated between Oeo and Ohawe Beach up to the tip of the māunga.

“This partnership will be particularly beneficial for our community in South Taranaki.”

“Partnerships like the one between WITT and Ngāruahine are an essential element as we continue our commitment to strengthening and growing our South Taranaki Campus.”

“I’m excited about this partnership's future and seeing it develop and grow into something for our community,” she said.

Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki is part of Te Pūkenga - New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Learn more

Learn with purpose

Explore Te Pukenga

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Copyright © 2024 Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki