Te Pūkenga Acting Chief Executive visits WITT

Published on

On Monday 29 August, Te Pūkenga Acting Chief Executive Peter Winder visited WITT’s New Plymouth campus to meet with kaimahi about the proposed structure that outlines how Te Pūkenga will operate as New Zealand’s polytechnics and ITPS become one network in 2023.

After being welcomed to WITT with a Pōwhiri, Peter spoke to kaimahi in an open and honest discussion and answered questions about the proposed organisational direction and design. Peter reminded staff that it is natural to go through a period of uncertainty and grief with such a big change and encouraged them to keep their eye on the prize.

He also emphasized the size of the transition explaing that pulling together the fifth biggest vehicle fleet in New Zealand, over 12,000 kaimahi and 2,759 individual programmes is not a simple task.

Allie Hemara–Wahanui WITT Kaiārahi - Deputy Chief Executive said this is an important time to celebrate our past before we enter into our next journey as Te Pukēnga; and this is the year to do this, as we celebrate our 50th anniversary.

“Fifty years is a significant milestone of service to the Taranaki community and making a difference to people’s lives.  That’s definitely worth celebrating.”

“People remember when we were the Taranaki Polytechnic, Te Kura Matatini o Taranaki.  When we become Te Pūkenga, people will probably remember the Western Institute of Technology as well.  While names change, we will continue to deliver tertiary education and training in Taranaki for the Taranaki community.”

On 1 November WITT becomes a business unit of Te Pūkenga and people will see our programmes advertised under the Te Pūkenga brand, but our dedicated kaimahi, programme offerings and mahi for the people of the region remains the same.

Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki is part of Te Pūkenga - New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Learn more

Learn with purpose

Explore Te Pukenga

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Te Kāwanatanga o Aotearoa - New Zealand Government

Copyright © 2024 Western Institute of Technology at Taranaki