Fri 10 Aug 2018

Science awards attract hundreds

The popularity of Taranaki’s annual science school fair was again underlined this week when 400 parents, teachers, sponsors and excited students watched the prize giving ceremony.

Francis Douglas Memorial College student Indusara Medagedara was rewarded for work on his project - he won several trophies including the WITT trophy for best exhibit in the fair.

His entry, Save our Seas from Global Warming also won the Shell Taranaki Sustainable Development Award and the Methanex NZ Trophy for the Best Exhibit in Years 9 & 10. 

This year’s 34th science fair attracted more than 1000 entries, emphasising its importance to the school community.

Organiser Terry Stowers said he was impressed by the fact that each year the quality of the entries rose, as did the interest from family and caregivers.

Alton Gondipon, the winner of the Best in Show in 2014 with Patrick Fisher-Evans, spoke at the awards ceremony about how his entry, Butter Milk for Chicken Feed, had led him into a science career with Fonterra. He was continuing to work on the project with Fonterra and Massey University.

There was much interest in the new Robotics section, and enthusiastic support from those gathered to watch the Maze and Sumo sections.

“It is likely entries will double for next year,” Terry said.

He added that as in other years there had been tremendous support from sponsors to provide the judges who judged the over 250 projects smoothly.

At the prize giving, Judge Gordon Brown praised the work and ideas from writers on the topic  What changes, both by individuals and society, do you think are necessary to achieve zero waste by 2021 in the Taranaki region?’’.

The ideas included some strong views on what local bodies should be doing to achieve the zero waste target.

Major Prizes  

Key to Schools:  FDC = Francis Douglas Memorial College, HHS = Hawera High School, MAG = Mangorei School, NPB = New Plymouth Boys’ High School, NPG = New Plymouth Girls’ High School and SHC = Sacred Heart Girls’ College.

Massey University Special Award for demonstrating the best solution to a significant global issue.

Year 9-10: Bradley Hanser for Solar Sensation, Hamish Jull and James Dunn for Small but deadly, Nicholas Dunnet for How well do wet wipes break down? Conor Eager for WiFi pollution - minimise the risk and Connor Barry for Shower Chaperone, (All students NPB).

Years 11 – 13: Special Prize, Marianne Lynch (SGC) for Does agricultural husbandry affect organic matter? Marianne also won the Mason Charitable Trust Prize and the University of Otago "Hands-On Science" Prize for the Best Application of Scientific Method for her entry.

Tamarind Scholarship:
Jessica Frost and Kaylee Frost (NPG) for Did we mention tension? This entry also won the LogiCamms New Zealand Trophy for the Best Project in Years 11 - 13  

Shell Taranaki Sustainable Development Award:
Indusara Medagedara (FDC) for Save our seas from Global Warming. This entry also won the Methanex NZ Trophy for the Best Exhibit in Years 9 & 10 and Best in Fair and the WITT Trophy 

Corteva AgroSciences, Agriculture Division of DowDupont Tertiary Scholarship:
Taylah Dagg and Hannah O’Connor (SGC) for Ulva lactuca - let us teach you about sea lettuce.  Second Prize went to Sam Landers and Oliver Arnold (HHS) for Hook, line and sinker

Fonterra Trophy for the Best Exhibit in Years 7 & 8
Lottie Moffat (MAG) for Colour my world. This entry also won Runner-up in Fair and the Dow AgroSciences Trophy 


Pictured: Indusara Medagedara with the WITT trophy for overall winner  on the night of the science awards.